Nevada Real Estate License Requirements

License exam tutor will help you pass the 1st time!

Nevada Real Estate Licensing Requirements

This licensing information is designed to provide a summary of the minimum education requirements established by the Nevada Real Estate Division. We recommend you contact the Nevada Real Estate Division for more detailed information or changes.

Nevada Real Estate Salesperson Pre-License Requirements

  • Be 18 years of age
  • Have a High School Diploma
  • Applicants for a real estate salesperson license must show, pursuant to NAC 645.435, proof of completion of the required 90 hours or 6 semester units of instruction in real estate principles, practices and law from a Nevada Real Estate Commission accredited provider. The course must include a minimum of 18 hours of Nevada law, consisting of NRS 645, 119, 119A, 119B and their respective administrative codes.
  • Certified transcripts must be submitted with the license application. Copies of certified transcripts are accepted.
  • Will be required to have two separate fingerprint cards that have been processed through a government agency. The fingerprints must have been taken within a year prior to applying for your real estate license.
  • Applicants must show proof of passing the national and Nevada state exam within one year of the application date. See Nevada real estate license exam prep.
  • Applicants may use their national examination results from another state (if dated within one year of the date of application for a Nevada real estate license) but must show proof of those results.

Nevada Real Estate Broker Pre-License Requirements

  • Be 18 years of age
  • Have a High School Diploma
  • Complete a total of 64 semester units of education on specific topics
  • Applicants for a Broker's license must have been actively engaged as a full-time licensed real estate broker or salesman for at least two (2) of the four (4) years immediately prior to the issuance of a Nevada Broker license. Applicants may apply for a Broker/ Salesperson license without meeting the experience requirement but must meet the testing and education requirement of a Broker.
  • Applicants must show proof of passing the national and Nevada state exam within one year of the application date (see Nevada real estate license exam prep). Applicants may use their national examination results from another state but must show proof of those results and meet the one year deadline.

Nevada Real Estate Salesperson Post-License Requirements

  • Original Real Estate licenses are valid for a one year period ending the last day of the month during which you obtained your license
  • First time renewals must complete 30 hours of Post Licensing education
  • Real Estate Salespersons: 30 hours consisting of 12 hours of required courses that include 3 hours each of: Agency, Contracts, Ethics, and Law & Legislation and 18 hours of general courses with an optional maximum of 3 hours in personal development
  • Real Estate Broker or Broker Salespersons: 30 hours consisting of 15 hours of required courses that include 3 hours each of: Agency, Contracts, Ethics, Law & Legislation, and Broker Management and 15 hours of general courses with an optional maximum of 3 hours in personal development.

Nevada Real Estate Continuing Education Requirements

  • CE due every 2 years by the end of the month the license was received, license renew every 4 years. 24 Hour of CE must be completed every two years
  • All CE courses require a final exam estate
  • Real Estate Salespersons:
  • a) 3 hours each of Agency Law, Ethics, NV Law & Legislation, and Contract Law
  • b) The Nevada Department of Business & Industry requires all its Real Estate licensees to complete and submit a course evaluation form (#612b) provided at the end of each course prior to receiving a certificate of completion
  • c) Licensees with expiration dates on or after July 1, 2013 are required to obtain 48 hours of continuing education, including LACE requirements, every 4 years
  • d) Twenty-four of those hours have to be completed within the first 2 years of each 4 year licensing period. A course taken in the first 2-year period cannot be repeated in the second 2-year period. Licensees with an expiration date on or before June 30, 2013 are still in a 2 year cycle with 24 hours of required continuing education to renew, including LACE requirements. At least 50% of the required education in each 2-year period must be taken through live instruction.
  • Real Estate Broker or Broker Salespersons:
  • a) 3 hours each of Agency Law, Ethics, NV Law & Legislation, and Contract Law, plus 3 hours of a broker management designation course
  • b) The Nevada Department of Business & Industry requires all its Real Estate licensees to complete and submit a course evaluation form (#612b) provided at the end of each course prior to receiving a certificate of completion. Licensees with an expiration date on or after July 1, 2013 are required to obtain 48 hours of continuing education, including mandatory requirements, every 4 years.
  • c) Twenty-four hours have to be completed within the first 2 years of the 4 year licensing period. Licensees with an expiration date on or before June 30, 2013 are still in a 2 year cycle with 24 hours of required continuing education to renew
  • Licensees renew every two years by the end of the month that the license was received

Nevada Real Estate Reciprocal License Requirements

  • The State of Nevada currently reciprocates with the following states: Arizona, Delaware, Idaho, Kentucky, Louisiana, Ohio, Texas, Utah, West Virginia
top