Washington Real Estate License Requirements

License exam tutor will help you pass the 1st time!

Washington Real Estate Licensing Requirements

This licensing information is designed to provide a summary of the minimum education requirements established by the Washington Department of Licensing. We recommend you contact the Washington Department of Licensing for more detailed information or changes.

Washington Real Estate Broker License Requirements

  • Be 18 years of age or older
  • Have a high school diploma or equivalent
  • Complete 90 clock hours of instruction in real estate including:
  • a) A 60 hour course in Real Estate Fundamentals
  • b) A 30 hour course in Real Estate Practices
  • Successfully pass the examination; see Washington real estate license exam prep
  • File an application for licensure with the state

Washington Estate Managing Broker License Requirements

  • Be 18 years of age or older
  • Have a high school diploma or equivalent
  • Provide proof you have at least 3 years of full-time experience as an active real estate broker, or other qualifying experience as described in WAC 308-124A-713
  • Successfully complete 90 hours of approved real estate education within 3 years before applying for the exam. This education must include:
  • a) 30 hours of brokerage management
  • b) 30 hours of business management
  • c) 30 hours of advanced real estate law
  • Successfully pass the managing broker’s examination; see Washington real estate license exam prep
  • File an application for licensure with the state

Washington Real Estate Continuing Education Requirements

  • First active renewal requirement:
  • a) 30-hour Advanced Practices Course
  • b) 30-hour Real Estate Law Course
  • c) 30 hours of approved continuing education, including a 3-hour Core Course
  • For subsequent renewals:
  • a) 30 hours of approved continuing education including a 3-hour Core Course
  • b) A minimum of 15 hours must be completed within 24 months of your renewal date
  • c) You may also submit up to 15 hours of unused continuing education that was completed within 48 months of your renewal date
  • Your broker’s license will expire 2 years after it is issued
top