Virginia Real Estate License Requirements

License exam tutor will help you pass the 1st time!

Virginia Real Estate Licensing Requirements

This licensing information is designed to provide a summary of the minimum education requirements established by the Virginia Real Estate Board. We recommend you contact the Virginia Real Estate Board for more detailed information or changes.

Virginia Real Estate Sales Pre-License Requirements

  • Be at least 18 years of age
  • Have a good reputation for honesty, truthfulness, and fair dealing
  • Must have a high school diploma or equivalent
  • Complete 60 hours of in the Principles of Real Estate course
  • Pass the state examination; see Virginia real estate license exam prep
  • Submit an application within 12 months of taking the state examination

Virginia Real Estate Broker Pre-License Requirements

  • Have a good reputation for honesty, truthfulness, and fair dealing
  • Must have a high school diploma or equivalent
  • Complete 180 hours of education
  • Of the education requirement, applicants must complete at least three courses from the below listed broker specific courses and one of the three must be a 45 hour Real Estate Brokerage course
  • a) Real Estate Brokerage
  • b) Real Estate Law
  • c) Real Estate Finance
  • d) Real Estate Appraisal
  • e) The remaining hours may be broker related courses
  • Pass the state examination; see Virginia real estate license exam prep
  • Must have been actively engaged as a Salesperson for a period of 36 to 48 months immediately preceding the application
  • Submit an application within 12 months of taking the state examination

Virginia Real Estate Sales Post License Requirements

  • New Salespersons must complete 30 hours of Post License education
  • The Post License requirement includes the following courses:
  • a) Fair Housing, ADA and Civil Rights (two hours)
  • b) Real Estate Law and Regulations (eight hours)
  • c) Ethics and Standards of Conduct (three hours)
  • d) Current Industry Issues and Trends (two hours)
  • e) Agency Law (three hours)
  • f) Contract Writing (six hours)
  • g) Risk Management (three hours)
  • h) Escrow Requirements (three hours)
  • Post License education will not be accepted for CE education and vice versa

Virginia Real Estate Continuing Education Requirements

  • Beginning July 1st, 2012, for the 2012-2013 Renewal Cycle: All licensees must take an additional 3 hour Continuing Education course called Residential Standard Agency.
  • Salespersons complete 16 hours of continuing education every 2 years
  • 8 of the 16 CE hours shall include training in these required topics:
  • a) 3 hours in Ethics and Standards of Conduct e) 2 hours in Fair Housing Laws
  • b) 1 hour in Legal Updates and Emerging Trends
  • c) 1 hour in Real Estate Agency
  • d) 1 hour in Real Estate Contracts
  • e) 2 hours in Fair Housing Laws
  • The other 8 hours are "elective" courses in real estate-related subjects
  • Sales agents renew every 2 years by the end of the month in which their license was received
  • Brokers must complete 24 hours of continuing education every two years
  • Of the 24 hours:
  • a) 8 must cover Broker Management and Agent Supervision
  • b) 3 hours in Ethics and Standards of Conduct
  • c) 2 hours in Fair housing
  • d) 1 hours in Legal Updates and Emerging Trends
  • e) 1 hour in Real Estate Agency
  • f) 1 hour in Real Estate Contracts
  • g) The remaining 8 hours may in real estate electives
top