Utah Real Estate License Requirements

License exam tutor will help you pass the 1st time!

Utah Real Estate Licensing Requirements

This licensing information is designed to provide a summary of the minimum education requirements established by the Utah Division of Real Estate. We recommend you contact the Utah Division of Real Estate for more detailed information or changes.

Utah Real Estate Sales Agent License Requirements

  • Must be at least 18 years of age
  • Meet the statutory licensing qualifications of honesty, integrity, truthfulness, reputation, and competency
  • Have at a minimum a High School diploma or its equivalent
  • Take 120 hours of approved education
  • Take and pass the Sales Agent state exam; see Utah real estate license exam prep
  • Submit two fingerprint cards or receipt of electronic fingerprint submission and a signed Fingerprint Waiver (issued at the testing center)
  • Submit application and associated fees

Utah Real Estate Broker License Requirements

  • Meet the statutory licensing qualifications of honesty, integrity, truthfulness, reputation, and competency. (Note: An applicant does NOT qualify for a real estate license if he or she has any felony in the last five years (starting from the time of conviction/plea or completion of any jail/prison sentence) OR if the applicant has any misdemeanor involving fraud, misrepresentation, theft, or dishonesty within the last three years.
  • Have at least three years of real estate experience
  • Accumulate a total of at least 60 points within the five years preceding application
  • Take 120 hours of approved education consisting of:
  • a) Part 1 Utah Law 30 Hours, including 3 hours testing
  • b) Part 2 Broker Principles (Fundamentals) 45 Hours, including 4 hours of testing
  • c) Part 3 Broker Practices (Broker Level) 45 Hours, including 4 hours of testing
  • Take and pass the Broker exam; see Utah real estate license exam prep
  • Submit a signed and notarized Broker Experience Documentation Form showing at least three years of qualifying experience
  • Submit a completed and signed Broker Transaction Log or Broker Property Management Log showing at least 60 experience points within the five years preceding application
  • Submit a signed and notarized Broker Verification Form completed by each Broker with whom the applicant has affiliated during the five years preceding application
  • Submit application and associated fees

Utah Real Estate Continuing Education Requirements

  • Complete 18 hours of state approved CE courses during every 2 year renewal cycle
  • This includes a mandatory 9 hour "core" course
  • The other 9 hours are elective CE courses
  • All new licensees must take the 12 hr. New Agent course during their first renewal
  • All sales agents renew every 2 years in the month that they license in
top