Texas Real Estate License Requirements

License exam tutor will help you pass the 1st time!

Texas Real Estate Licensing Requirements

This licensing information is designed to provide a summary of the minimum education requirements established by the Texas Real Estate Commission. We recommend you contact the Texas Real Estate Commission for more detailed information or changes.

Texas Real Estate Salesperson License Requirements

  • Must be 18 years of age
  • Must be a citizen of the United States or a lawfully admitted alien
  • Must be a legal resident of Texas
  • Must furnish the Commission satisfactory evidence of successfully completing the following education:
  • a) Principles of Real Estate core real estate course (60 hours)
  • b) Law of Agency core real estate course (30 hours)
  • c) Law of Contracts core real estate course (30 hours)
  • d) Real Estate Finance (30 hours)
  • e) Promulgated Contracts Form (30 hours)
  • Evidence of successful completion shall be presented via credit transcript or certificate prior to filing a Salesperson License Application form. DO NOT submit original transcripts and/or course completion certificates. Keep the originals for your personal files and send photocopies to the Commission.
  • To be eligible to apply for a real estate Salesperson License you must first obtain a letter from the Commission attesting to satisfaction of all education requirements. THE EVALUATION OF EDUCATION DOCUMENTS MUST BE PERFORMED BEFORE THE APPLICATION CAN BE FILED.
  • To obtain an evaluation of your education documents submit the form, Request for Evaluation of Education Documents
  • Pursuant to §1101.3521 of the Real Estate License Act, any person applying for or renewing a salesperson license must provide their fingerprints
  • Before you can practice as a licensed salesperson you must arrange for a Texas real estate broker holding an active license to sponsor you as a salesperson
  • A fee of $30.00 is required for the evaluation of education documents for the purpose of determining if education requirements have been satisfied. This fee is good for one year. Please submit copies of your transcripts or course certificates with your request for evaluation. DO NOT submit original documents.
  • For more information about becoming a real estate Salesperson in the state of Texas, please visit: http://www.trec.state.tx.us/.
  • For Those Applying On or After September 1, 2012: A Salesperson is required to have completed a total of 18 semester (270 classroom) hours of education, by the end of their second year of licensure. On the chart below, one can see that 180 of those classroom hours in core real estate courses must be completed within 1yr of the Salespersons application filing date. Please note that this means only 6 additional semester (90 classroom) hours in core real estate courses are required to be filed during the term of the license as a licensed Salesperson. These hours are known as SAE, or Salesperson Apprentice Education. These 90 additional classroom hours in core real estate for the SAE must be submited and on the TREC system by the end of the first year of licensure.
  • Core Classroom Hours 180 hours, as follows:
  • a) 60 in Principles of Real Estate
  • b) 30 in Law of Agency
  • c) 30 in Law of Contracts
  • d) 30 in Real Estate Finance
  • e) 30 in Promulgated Contract Forms
  • Once licensed, the salesperson must then complete an additional 90 core real estate classroom hours during the term of the license, for the totals seen below:
  • At 1st Renewal (end of 2nd year) 180 hours 90 hours 270 total hours
  • Note: Should all 270 hours be completed at the time the application is submitted, the licensee will have satisfied the SAE requirements and MCE hours will not be required for their first renewal. Core credit will not be awarded for the same core courses taken within two years of each other.

Texas Real Estate Continuing Education Requirements

  • Complete 15 hours of state approved courses every 2 years, these courses must include 6 hours of Mandatory legal courses including:
  • a) Legal Updates 3 hrs
  • b) Ethics 3 hrs
  • c) Electives 9 hrs
  • Pass a course final exam for mandatory legal courses (grade of 70 required to pass)
  • All sales agents renew every 2 years in the month their license was received
top