South Carolina Real Estate License Requirements

License exam tutor will help you pass the 1st time!

South Carolina Real Estate Licensing Requirements

This licensing information is designed to provide a summary of the minimum education requirements established by the South Carolina Real Estate Commission. We recommend you contact the South Carolina Real Estate Commission for more detailed information or changes.

South Carolina Salesperson License Requirements

  • Must be at least 18 years of age
  • Must have a high school diploma or equivalent
  • Complete a 60 hour Commission approved course in the fundamentals of real estate
  • Pass the state examination; see South Carolina real estate license exam prep
  • Submit application with associated fees
  • Within one year after passing the examination, the applicant must be sponsored by a broker-in-charge and apply for a provisional sales license

South Carolina Real Estate Broker License Requirements

  • Must be at least 21 years of age
  • Must have a high school diploma or equivalent
  • Complete 150 hours education (90 hours of which may be the hours required for a salesperson license)
  • Must have obtained 3 years of experience within the past 5 years with a salesperson license (or other Board approved alternatives)
  • Pass the state examination; see South Carolina real estate license exam prep
  • Submit application and associated fees

South Carolina Real Estate Salesperson Post License Requirements

  • During the first year of licensure, the provisional salesperson must complete an additional 30 hours of Commission approved post license education
  • Submit proof of post license education course completion, an application, and fees to the commission to upgrade to a Salesperson license

South Carolina Real Estate Continuing Education Requirements

  • As a condition of active license renewal, a broker or salesman shall provide proof of satisfactory completion biennially of eight hours of continuing education in courses approved by the department and taught by instructors approved by the department. License expire June 30 every two years.
  • The eight hours shall include a minimum of two hours of instruction in current federal and state law affecting brokers and salesmen.
  • South Carolina Real Estate Agents/Brokers are required to take 8 continuing education hours every 24 months. The 8 hours should include a minimum of 4 hours of instruction in Current Federal and State Laws affecting brokers and salespersons. While students are required to demonstrate mastery of the content at certain levels of the course, there are no passing requirements for final exams.

South Carolina Real Estate Reciprocal License Requirements

  • South Carolina has reciprocity agreements with three states: North Carolina, Georgia and West Virginia.
top