Ohio Real Estate License Requirements

License exam tutor will help you pass the 1st time!

Ohio Real Estate Licensing Requirements

This licensing information is designed to provide a summary of the minimum education requirements established by the Ohio Division of Real Estate and Professional Licensing. We recommend you contact the Ohio Division of Real Estate & Professional Licensing for more detailed information or changes.

Ohio Real Estate Salesperson Pre-License Requirements

  • Must be at least 18 years old
  • Must be honest, truthful and of good reputation
  • Have not been convicted of a felony or crime of mural turpitude
  • Have a high school diploma or its equivalent
  • Be sponsored by a broker
  • Must complete the required educational courses which are: a) Real Estate Principles and Practice (40 hours) b) Ohio Real Estate Law (including instruction in civil rights, housing discrimination, and desegregation problems) (40 hours) c) Real Estate Appraisal (20 hours) d) Real Estate Finance (20 hours)
  • Pass the State examination; see Ohio real estate license exam prep
  • Submit application and associated fees

Ohio Real Estate Broker Pre-License Requirements

  • Must be at least 18 years old
  • Must be honest, truthful and of good reputation
  • Have not been convicted of a felony or crime of mural turpitude
  • Have a high school diploma or its equivalent
  • Must complete the required educational courses. The courses taken are based on when the applicant was licensed as a Salesperson. To find out more info, visit the Division's website. However, below are the education requirements if licensed on or after August 1, 2001: a) Real Estate Principles and Practice (40 hours) b) Ohio Real Estate Law (including instruction in civil rights, housing discrimination, and desegregation problems) (40 hours) c) Real Estate Appraisal (20 hours) d) Real Estate Finance (20 hours) e) A Financial Management Course f) A Human Resource or Personnel Management Course g) Applied Business Economics Course h) Business Law Course i) Must have a minimum of two years of post-secondary education, or equivalent hours of (60) sixty semester hours or (90) ninety quarter hours. Courses 5-8 may be included in your post-secondary education.
  • Must have been licensed for at least 2 years and have worked as a Salesperson of an average of 30 hours per week for two of the last 5 years immediately preceding submitting the application
  • Must have completed 20 real estate transactions or have such equivalent experience
  • Pass the State examination; see Ohio real estate license exam prep
  • Submit application and associated fees

Reciprocal License Requirements

  • The Ohio Division of Real Estate and Professional Licensing has real estate license reciprocity agreements with Arkansas, Colorado, Connecticut, Mississippi, Nebraska, Oklahoma, West Virginia, & Wyoming.
top