North Carolina Real Estate License Requirements

License exam tutor will help you pass the 1st time!

North Carolina Real Estate Licensing Requirements

This licensing information is designed to provide a summary of the minimum education requirements established by the North Carolina Real Estate Commission. We recommend you contact the North Carolina Real Estate Commission for more detailed information or changes.

North Carolina Real Estate Broker License Requirements

  • Be at least 18 years of age
  • Be a United States citizen, a non-citizen national, or a qualified alien under federal law
  • Have a social security number
  • Complete the 75 hour NC Broker Pre-license course
  • Pass the real estate license examination; see North Carolina real estate license exam prep
  • Satisfy the Commission that they posses the requisite character to be entitled to licensure
  • Submit the application and associated fees

North Carolina Real Estate Broker License Post License Requirements

  • Be at least 18 years of age
  • Be a United States citizen, a non-citizen national, or a qualified alien under federal law
  • Have a social security number
  • Complete the 75 hour NC Broker Pre-license course
  • Pass the real estate license examination; see North Carolina real estate license exam prep
  • Satisfy the Commission that they posses the requisite character to be entitled to licensure
  • Submit the application and associated fees

North Carolina Real Estate Continuing Education Requirements

  • Complete 8 hours every year
  • All Brokers must take the 4 hour “General Update Course”
  • The other 4 hours are elective courses
  • All Brokers-in-Charge must complete a 4 hour Broker-in-Charge Update Course each full license period after being designated a broker-in-charge
  • Sales agents must renew on June 30th every year, and all Continuing Education for distance education courses must be completed by June 10th

North Carolina Real Estate Reciprocal License Requirements

  • North Carolina has reciprocity agreements with ten states.
  • Licensed agents in good standing in these states may obtain a nonresident real estate license without taking the North Carolina examination if they are currently active and were originally issued their license based on passing that state's license examination.
  • A salesperson licensed by reciprocity must be actively and personally supervised by a licensed North Carolina real estate broker.
  • There is a $30.00 fee for the nonresident license.
  • Additional requirements may apply, depending on which state the applicant is from.
top