Mississippi Real Estate License Requirements

License exam tutor will help you pass the 1st time!

Mississippi Real Estate Licensing Requirements

This licensing information is designed to provide a summary of the minimum education requirements established by the Mississippi Real Estate Commission. We recommend you contact the Mississippi Real Estate Commission for more detailed information or changes.

Mississippi Real Estate Salesperson Pre-License Requirements

  • Must be a resident of Mississippi when the application is submitted
  • Once you pass the state licensing exam, you will receive a temporary license that will expire one year from licensing
  • Must be 18 years of age or older
  • Must complete 60 hours of state approved pre-license education
  • Pass a course final exam with a score of at least 70%
  • Complete and return the Application for Resident Salesperson License
  • Upon notice of application approval, pass the state licensing exam with a 75%; see Mississippi real estate license exam prep
  • Once you pass the state licensing exam, you will receive a temporary license that will expire one year from licensing
  • Within that year, you must complete the 30 hour post-license education requirement
  • Upon successful completion of the post-license requirement, you will receive your permanent license at your renewal time

Mississippi Real Estate Broker Pre-License Requirements

  • Must be a resident of Mississippi when the application is submitted Once you pass the state licensing exam, you will receive a temporary license that will expire one year from licensing
  • Must be 21 years of age or older
  • Must complete 120 hours of state approved education (150 hours if you have not held an active salesperson license for a period of 12 months prior to submitting an application)
  • Shall have held an active salespersons license within the last 12 months
  • Complete and return the Application for Resident Salesperson License
  • Upon notice of application approval, pass the state licensing exam with a 75%; see Mississippi real estate license exam prep
  • Once you pass the state licensing exam, you will receive a temporary license that will expire one year from licensing

Mississippi Real Estate Broker Post License Requirements

  • Within that year, you must complete the 30 hour post-license education requirement
  • Upon successful completion of the post-license requirement, you will receive your permanent license at your renewal time

Mississippi Real Estate Reciprocal Broker License Requirements

  • Reciprocity: Applicants holding an active license in another state may be able to use real estate education obtained from providers who are not actually approved by Mississippi if the state that has issued their real estate license has also approved both the applicant’s real estate courses and the education provider for pre-licensing credit and a current reciprocal agreement is in force between that state and the state of Mississippi.

Mississippi Real Estate Continuing Education Requirements

  • Complete 16 hours of state approved courses every 2 years
  • These courses must include 8 hours of Mandatory courses including:
  • a) Mississippi License Law
  • b) Contract Law
  • c) Agency Law
  • The other 8 hours are elective courses
top