Michigan Real Estate License Requirements

License exam tutor will help you pass the 1st time!

Michigan Real Estate Licensing Requirements

This licensing information is designed to provide a summary of the minimum education requirements established by the Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs. We recommend you contact the Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs for more detailed information or changes.

Michigan Real Estate Salesperson Pre-License Requirements

  • An applicant must be 18 years of age or older
  • Complete no less than a 40 clock hour approved real estate fundamental course including (4) clock hours of civil rights law and equal opportunity in housing
  • Pass the state examination; see Michigan real estate license exam prep
  • Submit application and associated fees

Michigan Real Estate Broker Pre-License Requirements

  • An applicant must be 18 years of age or older
  • Complete no less than a 90 clock hours of approved coursework required within 36 months of application, unless licensed continuously
  • Have at least 3 years of full time experience
  • Pass the state examination; see Michigan real estate license exam prep
  • Provide letter of good standing
  • Submit application and associated fees

Michigan Real Estate Reciprocal Broker License Requirements

  • There is no reciprocity between Michigan and any other state

Michigan Real Estate License Continuing Education Requirements

  • Licensees must complete 18 hours of continuing education per 3-year license cycle, which includes at least 2 hours per calendar year of a course that is approved for Michigan law, rules and court cases regarding real estate.
  • Each year, the 2 hour Legal Updates course content changes
  • All license expire on 10/31 of that last year of the three year cycle
top