Arizona Real Estate License Requirements

License exam tutor will help you pass the 1st time!

Arizona Real Estate Licensing Requirements

This licensing information is designed to provide a summary of the minimum education requirements established by the Arizona Department of Real Estate. We recommend you contact the Arizona Department of Real Estate for more detailed information or changes.

Arizona Real Estate Salesperson Pre-License Requirements

  • Pursuant to A.R.S. § 32-2124, all applicants for an original real estate license shall show evidence satisfactory to the Commissioner (Arizona is a non-reciprocal state):
  • a) Of the honesty, truthfulness, character and competency of the applicant
  • b) That the applicant has not had a real estate license denied within one year, or revoked within two years immediately preceding the application
  • c) That the applicant is at least 18 years of age when applying for a license
  • d) That the applicant has completed pre-licensure education course(s) prescribed and approved by the Commissioner of at least 90 classroom hours and has passed a school and State and national examinations on the course; see Arizona real estate license exam prep
  • All new salesperson licensees must also take a six-hour continuing education course in Contract Law and Contract Writing before they may activate their licenses. The courses are offered by most approved schools.
  • Fingerprint Clearance Card is issued by Arizona Department of Public Safety. The application packet of information may be obtained from DPS or the real estate schools. The process for obtaining the Fingerprint Clearance Card may take as long as eight – ten weeks.
  • Applicants for a broker’s license must also demonstrate at least three years of actual experience as a licensed real estate broker or real estate salesperson during the five-year period immediately preceding application.
  • If you obtain your pre-licensure education from an approved Arizona real estate school, the school will provide you with a copy of the Candidate Handbook. The Candidate Handbook explains in further detail what you must do to take the State examination and apply for a license. After you complete the course and pass the school’s final examination, the school will issue a Pre-licensure Education Certificate to you, verifying that you have met the pre-licensure education requirement. You may then contact the testing administrator, Pearson VUE at 888.405.5776 or www.pearsonvue.com to register and schedule to take the State examination. Examinations are given in Flagstaff, Phoenix, Tucson and Yuma, and in other states around the country, by appointment only.
  • As you pass each portion of the State and National examinations, Pearson VUE will issue you a passing score report. Upon passing both parts, you will receive a third score report which is your Application for Licensure. You must submit all three score report sheets. Follow the instructions on the application to apply for a license. You must apply for a license within 1 year of passing the examination. If you do not submit an application by 5 pm on the last business day of the 1 year period, you will be required to take and pass the State and national examinations again before becoming eligible to apply for a license.
  • a) Pre-licensure Education Certificate(s) – This is the yellow form that certifies you have met the pre-licensure requirements.
  • b) Original License Questionnaire Form (LI-214) – Required information about your background and criminal history (if any).
  • c) Certificate for Contract Writing or Broker Management Clinic If you are applying for a salesperson’s license, provide a certificate of attending the 6-hour Introduction to Contract Writing (“”Contract Bootcamp””) course. If you are applying for a broker’s license, provide a course certificate of attending the Broker Management Clinic within the preceding 23 months.

Arizona Real Estate Broker Pre-License Requirements

  • Pursuant to A.R.S. § 32-2124, all applicants for an original real estate license shall show evidence satisfactory to the Commissioner (Arizona is a non-reciprocal state):
  • a) Of the honesty, truthfulness, character and competency of the applicant
  • b) That the applicant has not had a real estate license denied within one year, or revoked within two years immediately preceding the application
  • c) That the applicant is at least 18 years of age when applying for a license
  • d) That the applicant has completed pre-licensure education course(s) prescribed and approved by the Commissioner of at least 90 classroom hours and has passed a school and State and national examinations on the course; see Arizona real estate license exam prep
  • Broker Candidate Experience Verification (Form LI-226). Broker applicants must demonstrate three (3) years actual experience as a licensed real estate agent or broker within the preceding five (5) years.
  • As you begin the broker pre-license courses, you must fill out and give to your current broker the Broker Candidate Experience Verification Form (LI-226), confirming your active licensed experience for three of the past five years. The form is included in the Candidate Handbook.
  • The broker will sign the form verifying that you were actually practicing real estate and return the form to you for submission to the Department. The Department’s determination that you meet the experience requirement takes a minimum of three weeks, so allow enough time to get the authenticated forms back from the Department before scheduling your test. Originals must be filed with the Department.
  • The Department will return the submitted broker verification form(s) to you marked with a “valid through” date. If you do not apply for your broker’s license on or before that date, you must resubmit originals of the form(s) to update the information. If the “valid through” date passes and you have not submitted a license application, you may no longer meet the work experience requirement. If your experience was during the first three years of the last five-year period and you are no longer working in the real estate industry, a delay in applying for a license could place your experience outside the five-year window and render some of your experience invalid.
  • As you pass each portion of the State and national examinations, Pearson VUE will issue a passing score report. Upon passing both parts, you will receive a third score report which is your Application for Licensure. You must submit all three score report sheets. Follow the instructions on the application to apply for a license. You must make application for a license within 1 year after passing the State examination, or prior to expiration of the “valid through” date on your broker verification; whichever is earlier. If you do not make application by 5 pm on the last business day of the applicable period, you may no longer meet the experience requirement. At the minimum, you will be required to take and pass the State and national examinations again before becoming eligible to apply for a license.

Arizona Real Estate License Continuing Education Requirements

  • You must complete 24 hours of ADRE-approved Continuing Education (CE) courses every two years to renew a real estate license. Cemetery and membership camping licenses do not require continuing education credit for renewal.
  • Of the 24 hours required for renewal, you must obtain credit hours as indicated in EACH of the following subjects:
    Salesperson License:
    Agency Law 3 hours
    Contract Law 3 hours
    Commissioner’s Standards 3 hours
    Disclosure 3 hours
    Fair Housing 3 hours
    Real Estate Legal Issues 3 hours
    General Real Estate 6 hours
  • Broker License:
    24 or 30 hours (effective on and after 1/1/2013) of ADRE-approved Continuing Education (CE) courses must be completed and uploaded at az.gov/webapp/dre every two years to renew a real estate license.
    Of the 24 or 30 hours (effective on and after 1/1/2013) required for renewal, you must obtain credit hours as indicated in EACH of the following subjects:
    Agency Law 3 hours
    Contract Law 3 hours
    Broker Management Clinic* 9 hours (effective 1/1/2013)
    Disclosure 3 hours
    Fair Housing** 3 hours
    Real Estate Legal Issues 3 hours
    General Real Estate 6 hours
  • The 6 General Real Estate hours may be in any of the above categories OR General Real Estate
  • At least 3 hours of credit in the Commissioner’s Standards category must be of the Broker Management Clinic course if you are an active status designated broker (which includes self-employed brokers)
  • Effective on and after January 1, 2013, at least 9 hours of credit in the Commissioner’s Standards category must be of the Broker Management Clinic (consisting of Broker Management Clinic course #1, #2, and #3) if you are an active status designated broker (which includes self-employed brokers) or delegated associate broker with written authorization to act on behalf of the designated broker by reviewing and initialing contracts and similar instruments pursuant to A.R.S. § 32-2151.01(G)
  • If claiming Fair Housing course substitute, attach a statement of substitution and certificate for substitute class. An additional class in the Real Estate Legal Issues category that has been approved for a minimum of three credit hours in place of the mandatory Fair Housing category and must be pre-approved by the Department.
top